You are here
Home > 2018 World Cup > 2018 World Cup: Chukwu okays list, voices reservations about new players

2018 World Cup: Chukwu okays list, voices reservations about new players

2018 World Cup: Chukwu okays list, voices reservations about new players

Please follow and like us:

  • 0
  • Share

Former Super Eagles Coach, Christian Chukwu, has applauded the 30-man provisional list of the Super Eagles to the 2018 World Cup, tagged, Russia 2018.

Chukwu told the News Agency of Nigeria in Enugu on Wednesday that the “list is okay.”

NAN reports that the Nigeria Football Federation on Monday released the 30-man Provisional List of the Super Eagles from the team’s Technical Adviser, Gernot Rohr.

Chukwu said that Rohr as a coach knew what he wanted, adding, “Rohr knows most of his players.

“Rohr must have selected those players he felt will deliver his intention of making the nation proud in Russia.’’

SEE ALSO: VIDEO: Billionaire Femi Otedola takes inter-state ride in ‘Molue’

Chukwu, however, voiced reservations about the addition of some Nigeria Professional Football League  very late after the continental qualification.

He noted that Rohr should have added the new players at the qualifying stage “in order to start early to deal with the issue of blending the new and old players in the team together.

“They should have been added early; from the beginning of the qualifying stage.

“I don’t think it is proper to add them now due to blending issues unless they are going for jamboree,’’ Chukwu, who was a former Captain of the Super Eagles, said.

NAN also reports that Rohr’s provisional list included: Goalkeepers – Francis Uzoho, Ikechukwu Ezenwa, Daniel Akpeyi and Dele Ajiboye.

The defenders are Leon Balogun, William Troost-Ekong, Kenneth Omeruo, Brian Idowu, Elderson Echejile, Shehu Abdulahi, Ola Aina, Tyrone Ebuehi, Stephen Eze and Chidozie Awaziem.

The Midfielders includes: Mikel Obi (Captain), Joel Obi, Ogenyi Onazi, Mikel Agu, Etebo Oghenekaro, John Ogu, Uche Ago and Wilfred Ndidi.

Attackers are Odion Ighalo, Ahmed Musa, Moses Simon, Victor Moses, Junior Lokosa (new entrant), Simeon Nwankwo (new entrant), Alex Iwobi and Kelechi Iheanacho.

Russia 2018 FIFA World Cup finals is scheduled to kick off from June 14 to July 15.


(Visited 18 times, 18 visits today)
Facebook Comments

Please follow and like us:

  • 0
  • Share

Leave a Reply