You are here
Home > anambra > Anambra Assembly confirms Obiano’s Commissioners

Anambra Assembly confirms Obiano’s Commissioners

Please follow and like us:

  • 0
  • Share

AssemblyTHE Anambra State House of Assembly on Thursday cleared all the 19 cabinet nominees submitted by the state governor, Willie Obiano.

This was contained in a statement signed by the Deputy Speaker of the House, Hon Harford Oseke.

The nominees were confirmed by the lawmakers at the plenary in Awka, the State Capital with the exception of Mr Adeola Tejumola, the statement said.

Oseke said the motion for the confirmation of the nominees was moved by the majority leader, Hon. Victor Okoye and seconded Mrs Nike Ogochukwu.

In his remarks, the speaker of the assembly, Rt. Hon Barr. Rita Maduagwu said the coast had been cleared for the governor to proceed with the swearing-in of the nominees, having found them worthy of confirmation.

The Speaker, however, urged the nominees to operate open door policy and shun any form of corruption.

He said the nominees should bring in new ideas to governance that would rekindle the hope of the common people in the state.

Maduagwu who said the Commissioners should work hard to the expectation of the people of the State urged the nominees to assist the government in improving its Internally Generated Revenue (IGR).

It will be recalled that Governor Obiano in a letter dated March 20, forwarded 19 names of nominees for the position of Commissioner and to the state’s Assembly for consideration and confirmation.

The post Anambra Assembly confirms Obiano’s Commissioners appeared first on Tribune.

Facebook Comments

Please follow and like us:

  • 0
  • Share

Leave a Reply