You are here
Home > defection > Anxiety as defection gale hits state assemblies

Anxiety as defection gale hits state assemblies

Anxiety as defection gale hits state assemblies

Please follow and like us:

  • 0
  • Share


The gale of defections which started from the two chambers of the National Assembly has hit many State Houses of Assembly in the country, following the defection of political heavyweights as the 2019 general elections draw near.

Its biggest casualty was the Kwara State House of Assembly where the defection hurricane swept away 23 of the 24 members from the All Progressives Congress to the Peoples Democratic Party.

The defection of Senate President, Bukola Saraki, who is the leader of the APC in the state, alongside Governor Abdulfatah Ahmed, federal lawmakers from the state and the entire party machinery, led to a major realignment in the state parliament.

An APC member representing Ojomu/Balogun Constituency of Offa Local Government Area, Mr. Saheed Popoola, however, survived the political holocaust that crippled the party in the North-Central state.

In Benue State, the PDP was controlling 15 of the 30 seats in the House of Assembly, while APC had 14 seats and the Labour Party had one seat.

However, with the defection of Governor Samuel Ortom from the APC, the PDP now controls 22 seats while the APC has eight.

Sokoto State, which was parading a 30-member legislature since 2015, was hit by the defection wind recently when Governor Aminu Tambuwal defected from the APC to the PDP and uprooted 18 members from their seats while the APC was left with 12.

In Lagos, six members of the PDP in the House of Assembly defected to the ruling APC on February 16, 2017, citing the then division in the PDP and the achievements of Governor Akinwunmi Ambode as their reasons.

Presently, out of the 40 members in the House, only two are in the opposition.

In the 27-member Imo State House of Assembly, the APC has 24 while the PDP has three. PDP initially had five lawmakers, before the defection of Emma Orie and Obinna Egu to the ruling party.

There are 40 members in the Kano State House of Assembly. Until a few days ago, the entire Assembly was dominated by the APC members, except Bauchi State constituency that had a PDP member.

However, the opposition PDP can now boast of six members with the defection of Senator Rabiu Kwankwanso from the APC to the PDP.

Three members of the Akwa-Ibom State House of Assembly have so far defected  from the PDP to the APC, leaving the PDP with 23 from the 26-member legislature.

The PDP still retains the majority in the Taraba State House of Assembly despite defections. Out of the 24-member parliament,  the APC is controlling six seats, while the PDP has 17.

Three members defected in the Adamawa House of Assembly making the APC has  23 members, 1 ADC and 1 PDP.

In the Ekiti State House of Assembly, three cases of defection have happened since 2015, with the PDP still controlling the majority; however, 14 members of the Ondo State House of Assembly have so far defected from the PDP to the APC.

Two cases of defections from the APC to the PDP have so far been experienced in the Kogi State House of Assembly, still leaving the ruling party in the majority.

The defection wind that blew in the Bauchi and Ebonyi state houses of assembly was not strong enough, which left the ruling parties in each state controlling the majority members in their legislature.

Copyright PUNCH.

All rights reserved. This material, and other digital content on this website, may not be reproduced, published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed in whole or in part without prior express written permission from PUNCH.

Contact: [email protected]


(Visited 1 times, 1 visits today)
Facebook Comments

Please follow and like us:

  • 0
  • Share

Leave a Reply