You are here
Home > APC > Buhari beats Atiku in Kwankwaso’s local council, in runaway victory in Kano

Buhari beats Atiku in Kwankwaso’s local council, in runaway victory in Kano

Please follow and like us:

  • 0
  • Share


PDP leads in Ado LG, loses to APC in Tarka

1 hour ago  Nigeria

Jubilation in Ekiti as APC wins all 3 senatorial seats

58 mins ago  Nigeria

General elections: INEC pledges speedy collation of results, declaration of winners

52 mins ago  Nigeria

Nigeria’s President Muhammadu Buhari

President Muhammadu Buhari has recorded a resounding victory over his closest rival Atiku Abubakar of the opposition People’s Democratic Party (PDP) in the presidential poll in results of 10 of the 44 local governments in Kano state declared so far by the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC).

Highlights of the results indicate that President Buhari defeated Atiku in the Madobi local council, where former Governor of Kano state and leader of the Kwankwasiyya hails from.

President Buhari scored 26,110 votes às against Atiku’s 13,113 votes declared by the presidential collation officer in Kano, Prof Magaji Gambo who is the Vice Chancellor of the Federal University, Gusau.

Kwankwaso, however, was able to deliver his polling unit for Atiku who scored 278 as against Buhari’s 215 votes during the poll held on Saturday.

Kano’s Resident Electoral Commissioner (REC), who was on hand to oversee the results declaration, ordered the repeat of the election in four polling units in Dawakin Tofa council of Kano state.

The directive followed the disclosure by the collation officer of the council, Prof Mohammed Musa that about 10, 000 voters were denied the opportunity to cast their ballots due to malfunction of the card readers allotted to the polling units 014 and 015 in Dawakin Tofa east.

Declaration of results in the remaining 34 local councils of the state was shifted to 9 p.m to enable INEC officials, party agents, monitors and observers to perform Maghrib and Isha prayers.

Below are the details of results of the presidential election in the 10 local councils so far declared:

Local Government

1) Garun Malam

APC – 23, 810

PDP – 4, 861

2) Tofa

APC – 19, 984

PDP – 7, 732

3) Kunchi

APC – 20,375

PDP – 4, 983

4) Bagwai

APC – 23, 375
PDP – 10, 584

5) Gabasawa

APC – 24,420

PDP – 6,130

6) Bunkure

APC – 27, 232

PDP – 9,528

7) Rimin Gado

APC – 20, 589

PDP – 10, 305

8) Karaye

APC – 23,023

PDP – 8, 265

9) Madobi

APC – 26,110

PDP – 13,113

10) Dawakin Tofa

APC – 34, 417

PDP – 6,507

Facebook Comments

Please follow and like us:

  • 0
  • Share

Leave a Reply