You are here
Home > CAF > FIFA, CAF send observers for NFF board election 

FIFA, CAF send observers for NFF board election 

The concession of airports

Please follow and like us:

  • 0
  • Share

Amaju Pinnick: Will he survive another electionAmaju Pinnick: Will he survive another election

By Victor Okoye

The Federation of International Football Associations (FIFA) has named Messrs Luca Piazza and Solomon Mudege as its observers to Thursday’s elections into the Executive Committee of Nigeria Football Federation (NFF)  2018-2022.

The News Agency of Nigeria (NAN) reports that Mudege is FIFA’s Senior Manager for Development Programmes (Africa), while Piazza is a senior official in the FIFA President’s office.

A statement by Ademola Olajire, NFF’s Director of Communications on Monday, also said the Confederation of African Football (CAF) designated a member of its Executive Committee, Mr Sita Sangare, as its observer to the big event.

Former NFF President Aminu Maigari: Will he be disqualified?Former NFF President Aminu Maigari: Giving Pinnick a run for his money

It said this was communicated through a letter addressed to the NFF General Secretary, Mohammed Sanusi and signed by CAF Secretary General, Amr Fahmy,

Sangare, an Army Colonel, is also President of the Burkina Faso Football Federation.

Katsina town is already bubbling for the much anticipated polls with the arrival on Monday of an advance team from the NFF Secretariat.

Taiwo Ogunjobi: Testing his popularity?Taiwo Ogunjobi: Testing his popularity?

The NFF Electoral Committee put in place by the NFF Congress at the 2017 Annual General Assembly in Jos, which is headed by Mr Muhammed Sani Katu, will conduct the polls.

The committee has already cleared incumbent Amaju Pinnick, former Nigeria international and one –time NFF Secretary General Taiwo Ogunjobi, former NFF President Aminu Maigari and Chinedu Okoye to contest for the Presidency.

Chinedu Okoye: Any hope of emerging victorious?Chinedu Okoye: Any hope of emerging victorious?

Incumbent Seyi Akinwunmi will vie with Sunday Dele-Ajayi for the 1st Vice President’s position, while Patrick Ifeanyi Ubah will oppose incumbent Ibrahim Musa Gusau for the slot of Chairman of Chairmen.

A total of 15 other persons will battle for the remaining eight available positions on the Executive Committee.

All 44 Members of the Nigeria Football Federation Congress will cast their votes on Thursday. A number of the voters will arrive in Katsina on Tuesday.

Facebook Comments

Please follow and like us:

  • 0
  • Share

Leave a Reply