You are here
Home > abderrahman samba > IAAF lists nominees for Male World Athlete of 2018 award

IAAF lists nominees for Male World Athlete of 2018 award

Please follow and like us:

  • 0
  • Share


The International Association of Athletics Federations (IAAF) on Tuesday released a list of 10 nominees for the Male World Athlete of the Year award.

The world athletics governing body had this week opened the voting process for the 2018 World Athletes of the Year awards.

This was done ahead of the IAAF Athletics Awards 2018 slated for Monaco on Dec. 4.

The 10 nominees were selected by an international panel of athletics experts, comprising representatives from all six continental areas of the IAAF.


The nominees include Timothy Cheruiyot of Kenya, a world leader in both the 1500m and one mile, with nine out of 11 wins across those distances.

Apart from being a Diamond League champion, he has won silver medals s at the Commonwealth Games and African Championships.

Christian Coleman of the U.S., a world indoor record and world indoor champion at 60m and world leader and Diamond League champion at 100m, is also a nominee.

READ ALSO: Curfew: Kaduna residents get 4-hour window to restock

Armand Duplantis of Sweden has also been nominated.

He is a European champion in pole vault with a world-leading height, a world under-20 champion and holds eight world under-20 records or bests, indoors and out.

Also nominated is Kenya’s Eliud Kipchoge, who is not only the London Marathon champion but the Berlin Marathon champion with the biggest improvement on a men’s marathon world record since 1967.

Emmanuel Korir of Kenya who is the world leader and the world’s fastest at 800m since 2012 has also been nominated.

A Diamond League champion, Continental Cup winner and African Championships silver, Korir is the world number six at 400m.

Noah Lyles of the U.S. has also been nominated, for being the world leader and unbeaten in his five races at 200m, including at the Diamond League final.

South Africa’s Luvo Manyonga, a Diamond League and Commonwealth Games champion in long jump, is also listed and he is a silver medal at the World Indoor and African Championships.

Kevin Mayer of France is also among the nominees, being a world Indoor champion at heptathlon and world record holder in decathlon.

Abderrahman Samba of Qatar, a Continental Cup winner and Asian Indoor champion at 4x400m relay, is also listed as a nominee.

He is unbeaten in nine finals at 400m hurdles, setting the world’s quickest time since 1992, as well as being Asian Games champion at 400m hurdles and 4x400m relay.

Tomas Walsh of New Zealand was also nominated, not only for being with the world’s longest shot put since 2003 but as world indoor, Commonwealth Games and Diamond League champion.

The News Agency of Nigeria (NAN) reports that a three-way voting process will determine the finalists.

READ ALSO: Saudi foreign minister pledges full probe into Khashoggi killing

The IAAF Council and the IAAF Family will cast their votes by email, while fans can vote online via the IAAF’s social media platforms.

Individual graphics for each nominee will be posted this week.

The IAAF Council’s vote will count for the result’s 50 per cent, while the IAAF Family’s votes and the public votes will each count for the final result’s 25 per cent.

Voting for the Male World Athlete of the Year closes on 13 November.

At the conclusion of the voting process, five men and five women finalists will be announced by the IAAF.

The male and female World Athletes of the Year will be announced live on stage at the IAAF Athletics Awards 2018.

The post IAAF lists nominees for Male World Athlete of 2018 award appeared first on The Sun Nigeria.

Facebook Comments

Please follow and like us:

  • 0
  • Share

Leave a Reply