You are here
Home > Cuneyt Cakir > Mikel: Referee Cakir told me Rojo’s handball was penalty

Mikel: Referee Cakir told me Rojo’s handball was penalty

Mikel: Referee Cakir told me Rojo’s handball was penalty

Please follow and like us:

  • 0
  • Share

Nigeria captain, John Obi Mikel hit out at officials after his side’s dramatic World Cup exit at the hands of Argentina.
Marcos Rojo’s goal four minutes from time sent the South Americans through at the African side’s expense.

But Manchester United’s Rojo was fortunate to escape when he headed the ball against his arm in the box when under pressure from Odion Ighalo.

Referee Cuneyt Cakir consulted VAR, but only needed one replay to dismiss Nigeria’s claims.
And that angered Mikel.

“It was a clear penalty for me,” he told journalists after the game.

“If you look at the Portugal game yesterday against Iran, where the Iranians were given a penalty for a handball, this wasn’t close to that. This was worse. We have seen it again in the dressing room. It was a clear handball.”

Mikel added that when he asked Cakir why he had not given the penalty, he couldn’t tell him.

“The referee looked at the VAR,” said the ex-Chelsea man. “He said it hit the hand. I asked why he didn’t give the penalty, but he said he didn’t know.”

The post Mikel: Referee Cakir told me Rojo’s handball was penalty appeared first on The Sun News.

Facebook Comments

Please follow and like us:

  • 0
  • Share

Leave a Reply

Top