You are here
Home > APC > Nwosu, Okorocha emerge party’s candidates in Imo State

Nwosu, Okorocha emerge party’s candidates in Imo State

Nigerians React As Aisha Buhari Throws Shades At Ruling Party

Please follow and like us:

  • 0
  • Share

Uche Nwosu . Photo: Twitter/ Ugwumba Uche Nwosu

• Gov congratulates son-in-law, new NUJ president over their victories
• Zonal youth leader, three Assembly members win Taraba reps’ contests

The son-in-law of Imo State Governor Rochas Okorocha, Chief Uche Nwosu, has emerged as the All Progressives Congress (APC) governorship candidate in the state, defeating other eight aspirants.

But both the Deputy Governor of the state, Eze Madumere and the senator representing Imo West, Hope Uzodinma, had boycotted the exercise, faulting the process.

Also, Governor Okorocha has been declared the senatorial candidate of the party for Imo West (Orlu) Senatorial District.

The Chairman of the Imo APC Governorship Primary committee, Brig.-Gen. Ibrahim Agbakabia (rtd), who announced the results at the APC headquarters in Owerri yesterday, said Nwosu polled 269,524 votes to defeat others.

In the case of Imo West Senatorial Zone primary, Okorocha scored 141,117 votes to defeat Uzodinma who garnered 1,359 votes.

In Imo North, the immediate past Imo State Commissioner for Information and professor of Law, Nnamdi Obiaraeri, defeated the sitting senator, Ben Uwajumigu, with 67,438 votes.

Meanwhile, Okorocha has congratulated Nwosu for winning the APC governorship ticket.

Also, he congratulated the newly-elected President of the Nigeria Union of Journalists (NUJ), Chris Isiguzo, over his emergence at the weekend.

In another development, the North-East Zonal Youth Leader, Maigari Kasimu, has emerged winner of Jalingo/Yorro/Zing Federal Constituency after scoring 12,755 votes to beat seven other contestants.

Also, Abubakar Jugulde, currently representing Gembu Constituency in the Taraba House of Assembly, emerged for Gashaka/Kurmi/Sardauna Federal Constituency after polling 9,358 votes.

The elections also produced Alhaji Gambo Mubarak who scored 9,269 votes as winner for Bali/Gassol Federal Constituency while in Ardo-Kola/Karim Lamido/Lau Federal Constituency, Kabiru Bello, who scored 8,846 votes emerged victorious.

Besides, Josiah Kente, a former Speaker of the state’s Assembly was returned as winner for Ibbi/Wukari Federal Constituency after scoring 11,434 votes while Alexander Attah with 7,448 votes emerged winner for Donga/Takum/Ussa Federal Constituency.

Facebook Comments

Please follow and like us:

  • 0
  • Share

Leave a Reply