You are here
Home > LOCAL > PDP wins Bayelsa Assembly election

PDP wins Bayelsa Assembly election

Please follow and like us:

  • 0
  • Share

By Samuel Oyadongha

THE National Independent Electoral Commission, INEC, has declared the final result of Bayelsa State House of Assembly, with Peoples Democratic Party, PDP, retaining 17 seats.


Members of the PDP

PDP flays INEC over alleged violation of electoral guidelines

The opposition, All Progressive Congress, APC, won four seats as against the one seat it secured in the 24-member House in 2015.

Declared inconclusive by INEC were the Brass I, Ogbia II and Southern Ijaw IV constituencies due to alleged hijack of ballot boxes and other forms of electoral anomalies.

Supplementary poll is expected to be conducted in affected areas.

Mr. Wilfred Ifogah, INEC Head of Department, Voter Education and Publicity in the state, however, explained that the reason for declaring three constituencies inconclusive was due to failure to follow INEC regulations and guidelines for the conduct of the general election.

He said: “The election, which was held on March 9 in all 24 state constituencies, had 21 results fully declared and winners returned, while three were declared inconclusive with due reference to INEC regulations and guidelines for the conduct of 2019 general election.”


Meanwhile, those who emerged as APC state Assembly member-elect are Mr. Wilson Ayakpo (Ekeremor II), Mr. Edward Irigha (Nembe II), Douglas Samson (Nembe III) and Omubo Ayonatimiyo (Brass II).

However, PDP returned about 17 members of the state House of Assembly, including the Deputy Speaker, Abraham Ngobere (Brass III), Obolo Bubou (Silga II) and Tonye Isenah (Kolga II) for the third term.

Ben Ololo (Nembe I), Koku Obiya (Yenagoa II), Obodor Mitema (Ogbia I), Adikumo Salo (Sagbama III), Kenbai Bernard (Sagbama II), Ogbere Michael (Ekeremor III), were also returned for second term.

Facebook Comments

Please follow and like us:

  • 0
  • Share

Leave a Reply