Senate Makes U-Turn, Recieves Screening Reports On 12 REC Nominees

Please follow and like us:

  • 0
  • Share

Two weeks after the Senate resolved to suspend consideration of the Presidency requests for confirmation of nominees, the upper chamber on Wednesday, July 19, received the report of its Committee on Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) on the screening of 12 Resident Electoral Commissioners (RECs).

The Senate, on July 4 resolved to suspend all confirmation requests from the Presidency until Acting President Yemi Osinbajo withdraws a statement credited to him that the Senate does not need to confirm nominees from the executive arm of government.

The Senate also asked the Presidency to sack the Acting Chairman of the Economic and Financial Crimes Commission (EFCC), Mr. Ibrahim Magu, in line with its resolution.

Court Orders Temporary Forfeiture Of Property Allegedly Belonging To Alison Madueke

The Senate took the resolution to suspend confirmation of presidential nominees when Senate President, Bukola Saraki, read Osinbajo‘s letter, urging the upper chamber to confirm the nomination of Lanre Gbajabiamila as Director-General of the National Lottery Commission (NLC).

Senator Ahmed Sani Yerima (Zamfara West) noted that since the acting President had already concluded that the Senate lacks the powers to confirm nominees, there was no need to acknowledge any letter from the executive on confirmation of nominees.

However, the Senate after over one hour closed session reversed itself by receiving the report of the RECs screening.

The resolution suspending confirmation requests reportedly featured prominently at the closed session.

Senate Suspends Confirmation Of 27 INEC Resident Electoral Nominees For This Reason

The 12 RECs whose screening reports were received were – Mrs. Asmanu Sani Maikudi (Katsina), Sam Olugbadebo Olumekun (Ondo), Mahmud Isah ( Kebbi), Rufus Oloruntoyin Akeju (Lagos) and Riskuwa Shehu (Sokoto).

Others are – Kassim Gana Geidam (Yobe), Jibrin Ibrahim Zarewa (Kano), Abdulganiyu Olayinka Raji (Oyo), Samuel Egwu (Kogi), Mike Igini (Delta), Mustapha Zubairu( Niger) and Ahmad Bello Mahmud (Zamfara).

No date was fixed for their confirmation.

The post Senate Makes U-Turn, Recieves Screening Reports On 12 REC Nominees appeared first on LATEST NIGERIAN NEWS BREAKING HEADLINES NEWSPAPERS.

Facebook Comments

Please follow and like us:

  • 0
  • Share

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *