You are here
Home > award winners > THE WINNERS…


Please follow and like us:

  • 0
  • Share

According to him, Mallam Nasir El-Rufai, Kaduna State governor, won the prestigious Man of the Year Award, while Governor Ifeanyi Ugwuanyi (Enugu) clinched Governor of the Year Award.

Bayelsa State governor, Hon. Seriake Dickson, was picked as Outstanding Politician of the Year, with Governor Kashim Shettima of Borno State emerged as winner of Courage in Leadership Award.

Other Award winners are Sir David Chukwudozie, chairman, Dozzy Group, who emerged as Manufacturer of the Year; Chief Laymond Ikpea, chairman, Lee Engineering & Construction Ltd, Business Person of the Year and Mr. Nnamdi Okonkwo, MD, Fidelity Bank Plc, as Banker of the Year.

The First Lady of Rivers State, Justice Suzzette Nyesom-Wike, emerged winner of Most Supportive First Lady of the Year Award, with Public Service Award going to Mr. Nsima Ekere, Managing Director, Niger Delta Development Commission Commission and Registrar of the Joint Admission and Matriculation Board (JAMB), Prof. Ishaq Oloyede.

Two people won the Hero of the Year Award for their extraordinary heroic feats. They are Mr. Joe Blackson, who died after saving 13 people in a boat accident and Alhaji Abubakar Abdulkadir, a Muslim cleric, who saved about 300 Christians from being killed by herdsmen.

Star actress and producer, Genevieve Nnaji, emerged as Nollywood Personality of the Year, while David Adeleke, popularly known as Davido, clinched the Creative Personality of the Year Award.

READ ALSO: Genevieve Nnaji signs film deal with U.S. based Agency

The Humanitarian Service Award goes to Mrs. Folorunso Alakija, richest black woman and Chairperson, Rose of Sharon as well as Emperor Chris Baywood Ibe, Chairman of Baywood Foundation.

World Heavyweight boxing champion, Anthony Joshua and top striker in the female national team, Super Falcon, Azeezat Oshoola, are the Sports Personality of the Year Award winners.

The Lifetime Achievement Award goes to Chief Afe Babalola (SAN), legal luminary and founder of Afe Babalola University; ace reporter, newspaper technocrat and former Ogun State governor, Aremo Olusegun Osoba; iconic musician, King Sunny Ade; and frontline politician and pacesetter, Sen. Florence Ita-Giwa.

Mr. Osagie said the awardees were chosen after critically examining the contributions of a legion of Nigerians before arriving at the Award winners.

He said at a time the country has faced many challenges, “these Nigerians have held their heads above the waters and made incredible contributions.”

The MD said in the various sectors the Award winners play, “they performed as champions, proving that good things can come out of the country.”

He said The Sun Awards would be formally conferred on the winners on January, 26, 2019, ahead of the general elections holding next February.

READ ALSO: The Sun Awards – Highlights


Details of the profiles of the award winners and why they were picked will be published on Sunday, October 28, 2018

Facebook Comments

Please follow and like us:

  • 0
  • Share

Leave a Reply