Vanguard Personality Award a catalytic energy to do more – Ayade

Please follow and like us:

  • 359
  • Share

By Dapo Akinrefon, Charles Kumolu and Gbenga Oke

Yesterday’s Vanguard Personality of the Year Award ceremony was resplendent in glitz and glamour with some of the country’s leading personalities in attendance.

Even before the proceedings commenced at 7.00 p.m. the Eko Convention Hall was practically overflowing with all seats taken up.

Pix from left Alhaji Bamanga Tukur; Governor Ben Ayade of Cross Rivers state and his wife

Politicians of all hue were there including leading lights of the two major factions of the Peoples Democratic Party, PDP, with national chairman, Senator Ali Modu Sheriff and his traducers from the mainstream led by Chief Olabode George gathered under the same roof.

Editor-in-Chief of Vanguard, Mr. Gbenga Adefaye who welcomed dignitaries on behalf of Vanguard publisher, Mr. Sam Amuka said the award ceremony was in continuation of the Vanguard spirit of recognising excellence in the professions saying, “In our usual tradition, we have meticulously handpicked these highly motivated individuals who have shone through challenging times and have gone beyond their call of duties for the sake of service.”

The award ceremony which had former governor of Cross River State, Mr. Donald Duke as chairman, kicked off with the recognition of the services to mankind rendered by some of the country’s leading lights.

Gen. Yakubu Gowon, Alhaji Bamanga Tukur, Chief Emeka Anyaoku, Mr. Pascal Dozie, Anthony Cardinal Okogie, Chief Edwin Clark and Alhaji Isa Funtua were honoured with the Lifetime Awards.

In memorable recollection of his services to the country, practically all men and women present at the Eko Convention Hall rose in applause for Gen. Gowon as he was called upon to receive his award from the duo of Vanguard Chairman, Mr. Sam Amuka and former governor of Ogun State, Chief Segun Osoba.

Yesterday’s event was also an opportunity for cultural bonding as Igbo traditional dancers came to show solidarity not just to Chief Anyaoku and Mr. Dozie, but remarkably with South-South leader, Chief Edwin Clark.

READ ALSO:  We came to condole Buhari over death of two relatives, not 2019 – APC governors

Following the Lifetime Service Awards, honours were bestowed on Captain Hosa Okunbo as Businessman of the Year, 2016, Mr. Herbert Wigwe as Banker of the Year, 2016 and Mr. Godwin Emefiele as Personality of the Year, 2016.

Okunbo’s investiture was shadowed in much culture with Bini dancers and music entertaining on the sidelines.

Mr. Willie Obiano’s award was received on his behalf by his deputy, Dr Nkem Okonkwo, who thanked Vanguard for recognising what he described as the good things being done in the state.

“On behalf of my principal, I greet the publishers of Vanguard. If you do good things, you will realise that awards count. We have a leader in Governor Obiano who understands the private sector, who knows how to provide jobs and institutions. We have a Governor who understands what it is to pay salaries at the right time. I can guarantee you that if in the next four years, we have Governor Obiano at the helm of affairs, we will surely have a Dubai in Nigeria”.

Receiving his award as Governor of the Year, Governor Ayade of Cross River State said it was a challenge for him to do more.

“I accept this award as a catalytic energy to push me, to challenge me to do my very best because Vanguard is a credible organisation, I accept this award and dedicate it to the entire people of Cross River State, Nigeria and indeed Africa.”

Kebbi State governor, Senator Abubakar Atiku Bagudu said the award to him was made possible by many people.

“So many people worked hard for this, I am humbled that Vanguard Newspapers acknowledged this and has been the medium supporting this initiative,” Governor Bagudu said as he received the award in the company of many political stalwarts.

READ ALSO:  APC chieftain blasts Ikpeazu, urges Abians to reject him in 2019

Governor Akinwunmi Ambode of Lagos was represented by his deputy, Dr. Mrs. Ranti Adebule who thanked the organisation for the award given to her principal even as she promised that he would do more.

Vanguard editor, Mr. Eze Anaba who gave the vote of thanks thanked all the dignitaries who came for the awards saying he expected to see all next year.

Among the major dignitaries present were
Chief Olabode George,
Chief (Mrs.) Bucknor Akerele,
Dr. Cairo Ojougboh
Chief Oba Otudeko,
Mr. Donald Duke,
Mr. Alex Otti,
Ms Comfort Obi,
Mr. Jim OVIA,
Pastor and Mrs. Osaze Ize-Iyamu
Senator Saminu Turaki,
Senator Anthony Adefuye,
Senator Daisy Danjuma,
Mr Nosa Igiebor,
Mr. Philip Odozua, MD, UBA Plc
General David Jemibewon, former military governor of Western State
Mr. Kola Abiola,
Mr. Nduka Obaigbena, Chairman of THISDAY Newspapers,
Senator Bassey Ewa Henshaw, former chairman of Niger Delta Development Commission
Mr. Mideno Bayagbon, publisher
Erelu Abiola Dosunmu
Dr Pascal Dozie–founder, Diamond Bank
Chief Olabode George
Senator Ali Modu Sheriff– former governor of Borno State
Senator Ehigie Uzamere
Pastor Ituah Ighodalo
Dele Momodu–Ovation Publisher
Senator Florence Ita-Giwa

The post Vanguard Personality Award a catalytic energy to do more – Ayade appeared first on Vanguard News.

Facebook Comments

Please follow and like us:

  • 359
  • Share

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *